coffee shop bliss

An oasis in the scorching Nicaraguan heat, Espressionista is a welcome luxury – strong coffee, desserts made with fresh, local ingredients, small fans near each table and soothing music in the background.  All the elements I need for a relaxing, productive afternoon – perfect for completing my Spanish homework for the week.  For some, Espressionista may be too similar to their local coffee shop back home – not particularly “Nicaraguan” by first sight.  However, all the products: the coffee beans, cheese, fresh beets, passion fruit are locally grown and obtained.  This little shop not only employs local Nicaraguans as baristas but many others (farmers, coffee roasters etc) through their purchase of organic, local products for the menu.  They also have an area in the back where they sell a small selection of books, jewelry, and clothing from local artists.

While the prices here are higher than you might find elsewhere, I love that it’s only a few blocks from our house and the atmosphere is so welcoming. In addition to the coffee shop during the day, they light all the candles in the evening and dim the lights and create a beautifully romantic setting.

I also had a nice memory of coming here with one of my room renters.  (I rented out the two other bedrooms in our house to make some $ and make use of such a large home )  He was an economics professor from Spain and didn’t speak English.  He was so polite and kind and we shared conversation over tea one evening at Espressionista.  I’m happy to say four months later, he and I still correspond through email.  He writes me in English to practice and I write back in Spanish to practice.

One thought on “coffee shop bliss

  1. I’ve been browsing online more than 2 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like
    yours. It’s pretty worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all site owners and
    bloggers made good content as you did, the net will
    be much more useful than ever before. http://www.yahoo.net

    Like

Leave a Reply

